Mawaru Penguindrum

I’m glad the shoujo genre is still producing great series as this is by far my favorite of 2011. I re-styled/modified a bunch of the typesetting so it’s less ugly now. Enjoy another awesome anime by Brain Base and Kunihiko Ikuhara.

Edit: the torrent was re-uploaded, my seedbox was herp derping.

Video: 1920ร—1080 (10-bit)

Audio: AAC 2.0

Subs: gg

Torrent / xdcc (Alt)

This entry was posted in Release and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Mawaru Penguindrum

  1. anon says:

    What a nice surprise that you did this. Thank you for the release. And here I was dreading that I would have to get CGs release to rewatch this great series.

  2. Rilkar says:

    Is gg’s translation accurate?

    • TehShow says:

      8ths.in Translation notes for it, it was seriously done, except for a few lines, but it adds a comedic effect to it, like you gotta be shitting me from you’ve got to be kidding me for example.

      • takatin9 says:

        8thsin is one of the best active fansub translator out there, so I don’t doubt his translation. Also, I used the gg’s batch script, so those “comedic” lines were toned down.

  3. TehShow says:

    Any plans for 720p version? or no?

  4. AT says:

    Awesome ๐Ÿ˜€ I’ve been waiting for someone to do the rest of Penguindrum since Coalgirls has been static on it for months. I take it this is the whole series BD? I tried the torrent but it’s not on the db for some reason >.< Thanks, and I'll check back later.

  5. wraithe says:

    Failure reason “requested download is not authorized for use with this tracker”

    Do you happen to know what that could mean? I’ve downloaded with torrents using minglong before and have never seen an error message, let alone this one.

    • takatin9 says:

      You probably download a version I deleted as I was testing my seedbox. Re-download the torrent file and try again. It’s working fine for me.

      • wraithe says:

        Hm. I just redownloaded the torrent file and keep getting the same error. Sometimes my seedbox just doesn’t like a torrent and I have no idea why. I’ll try utorrent when I get home which sucks for such a big file T_T Thank you either way. ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. InertMaterials says:

    Is this done using the updated scripts or the release ones?

  7. Perplexing says:

    Very impressive to say the least. I’ve been coming here to grab Ben-To and have since come back to grab Kyoukai Senjou no Horizon. Now with this release as the previous poster mentioned I have no need to wait on slow… I mean coalgirls. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks

  8. iRoxxor says:

    Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. TriplH says:

    Very nice surprise. I could almost forget you for not doing Chihayafuru in 1080p ;P

  10. ChRno says:

    Bro, thanks for this awesome release. I will seed once I finished downloading the batch. Thanks again.

  11. zoozoo says:

    Is there a reason why AAC over FLAC?

    • takatin9 says:

      Is there a good and valid reason why I should use FLAC over AAC?
      AAC is significantly smaller and you won’t be able to hear any difference as long as the encoder doesn’t use some retarded settings.

  12. asd2090 says:

    Fuck, no 720p.

    Do you know anybody who is doing 720p besides bloatgirls?

  13. korol says:

    At about 43 seconds into the first OP, the sound is horrible. I’m not sure how to describe it, but it certainly isn’t like that in the TV release, or the single release of the opening theme.

    I’m not sure if ordered chapters are being used, but it sounds just as bad in every episode with that OP.

    • takatin9 says:

      I’m not sure what you are referring to as I checked and I had someone else checked that part of the OP and there wasn’t anything out of the ordinary. By the way, I didn’t used ordered chapters.

      • korol says:

        Just to be clear, this is the part I was referring to: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YZef-OeqFYk&t=1m58s

        There is a kind of drum roll for a second or so, but in your release it sounds very distorted (to me, at least).

        • takatin9 says:

          Ok, now I get what you were referring to. I downloaded an episode of the Coalgirls’ version and they too have this distortion, so it’s most likely the same in the bdmv. I sadly don’t have the bdmv anymore to verify for sure, but I’m 99% positive that this distortion was in the source.
          tl;dr, blame Japan.

    • capncrunch says:

      You’ve got some amazing ears to pick that up – or at least a much better sound system than mine ๐Ÿ™‚
      It’s also in the CG FLAC release though.

Leave a Reply

