Chihayafuru 10-12

Announcement: I’m changing my release policy for future projects. I will be making only one version, either 1080p or 720p. I need to reduce the workload since I don’t have a team. I will also be dropping flac since it’s huge. I’ll be replacing it with either qaac tvbr q127 or nero aac vbr q0.75 (that is what I’ve been using) so there won’t be any sound quality lost. Those changes are only for future projects as ongoing ones will stay the same to maintain consistency. Those changes are finals.

Video: 1080p/720p (10-bit)

Audio: FLAC 2.0 (24-bit)/AAC 2.0

Subs: Commie

1080p: Torrent

720p: Torrent

This entry was posted in Release and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Chihayafuru 10-12

  1. nigga says:

    sounds good

  2. Alesianduke says:

    Thanks for the episodes!
    Also, on that note, personally I only download 720p format, preferably not FLAC (unless I don’t have another choice)… and this because I don’t see any difference between 1080p and 720p, plus the best ratio size/quality is in 720p. Just my point of view 😀

  3. Eruwa says:

    Honestly, I think you’re making the right choice. It is true that it takes much longer to release the same episodes in two diferent versions. I hope you decide to keep releasing 720p though, as it is the most versatile compared to 1080p which is usually just an upscale. And I’ve always been a fan of AAC since it’s way lighter than FLAC and the difference (if there is one) is almost unnoticeable. Anyway, for now, thanks for these episodes!

  4. Watari says:

    …I prefer 720p for TV series and 1080p for movies.

  5. Verix says:

    For audio, please use qaac tvbr q127, I believe it’s better than nero.
    As for the changes it’s pretty understandable. Thanks for the new Chihayafuru episodes.

  6. aac says:

    Might be of interest:
    http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=161957
    And good choice with going aac-only.

    • Verix says:

      How well AAC performs at low bitrates doesn’t really say much about how it performs at ~320kbps VBR. I believe Apple > Nero though.

  7. xx says:

    hope u do 720p too…

  8. FlameHaze says:

    I vote for 720 only. Alot of people, including myself, can’t play 1080.

  9. Messy says:

    And there we go with the guys that can’t play 1080p…seriously, just download the tv version and leave the BD quality to those that can afford it.

    • Pink says:

      What is wrong with you. If you want the 1080p only you should voice it but do not target the people who can only paly 720p files. What if I say if you want BD quality why not just download the bdmv?

  10. FlameHaze says:

    1. Censored as hell tv version
    2. Uncensored 720 bluray version that everyone can play.
    3. Uncensored 1080 bluray that only some people can AFFORD to play.

    I’m gonna go with option 2.

  11. takatin9 says:

    I guess I’ll clarified. I’ll be doing 1080p only except when the source looks really bad, lolupscale or requires lolbitrate.

  12. Rikku says:

    aac?
    Well, I guess I gonna have to go for another group.
    Could you at least release the scripts so we can use them with Yousei, Zero, ANK, Salender or Reinforce rips?

  13. Ogge says:

    All the Chihayafuru eps I’ve downloaded are just green screens with sound. I can see the subtitles if I pause the vid aswell. Am I doing somet wrong here?

  14. anon says:

    Thanks for the releases.

    Any chance of you releasing the FLAC audio as a separate file just for those who choose to download it?

  15. anon says:

    Ok. Thanks for the heads up.

  16. scandilizer says:

    Thanks for the new BD eps! And i also vote for 720p please.

  17. Verix says:

    In ep.11 around 3:01 and 12:53 there’s subtitles that raise a bit probably to go over some broadcast text, which is no longer necessary with a bluray release.

    On another note I noticed you changed encode settings in these last 3 episodes. I have to say I don’t see a difference in quality. I think I liked the previous settings better, though.

    • takatin9 says:

      Missed that in the 720p version, the 1080p is fine. I will fix that in the batch. That’s one of the reason why I want to do only 1 version. I know why you would like the previous encoding more, but it isn’t in the encoding settings as in the different filters used and the usage of them.

  18. TriplH says:

    Well just wanted to thank you for doing Chiahayfuru Blu-ray. It’s one of the, if not, the best anime I’ve seen in years and, just like Usagi Drop, almost no one is doing the 1080p glorious releases they deserve … Feels bad man 😉

  19. dmonhiro says:

    Hey man, good choice. Look at me, I only do 720p. Now, there IS a reason why I only do 720p. OK, several, but two are most important. So let me tell you the three reasons.
    1. Most anime are not produced at 1080p.
    2. 1080p raws are everywhere, and it’s simple to mux the subs with the raws.
    3. Only need to seed one version, and 720p takes less space.
    4. I can’t tell the difference between 1080p and 720p on my HD Sony Bravia connected to my PC with an HDMI cable.

    So, I suggest 720p.

  20. michte says:

    Thanks for the release ! however, could someone reseed the 1080p torrent ? We are still a few trying to get it. (Since 1080p is dropped and you don’t support this anymore, I’ll go the 720p way)

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

