Usagi Drop Vol.1 (…again)

This is the version with my encoding. This is a better encoding than the raw I was using. I release the 720p first, than I will release the 1080p v2 with my encoding later on.

EDIT : I fix the missing ED’s kara but mix in the old unfix subs. *face palm*, here is the fixed sub for those who want it. I will fix that up in the batch and DDL, sorry for the trouble.

EDIT2: Updated with 1080p version.

Source: bdmv

Video: 1080p @ CRF16 (10-bit), 720p @ CRF 15 (10-bit)

Audio: FLAC 2.0 (16-bit), AAC 2.0

Subs: Taka (main), Oyatsu (kara, specials)

1080p: Torrent ll DDL

720p: Torrent ll DDL

This entry was posted in Release and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Usagi Drop Vol.1 (…again)

  1. A says:

    Tnx for using Taka. Will get the batch next year ^_^

  2. Gustus_Mack says:

    Congrats on your releases. Have fun. But it would be better to refer to this as hi10p rather than “10-bit”. As you know, you can’t derive real 10-bit color from 8-bit data, so that use of the term is deceiving at best. It’s not really even a 10-bit encode when it’s being run on 8-bit data with dummy values. But I think it’s great to make clear to people what you are offering, as you have.

    I expect hi10p and 8-bit 720p to both be around for a long time, as they address different hardware platforms. There’s no reason for you to offer anything other than what you want, and every title is now available in both encodes somewhere. However, the more narrow your offerings, the smaller the number of responses you should expect. A lot of 1080p-only videophile sites sprang up and died quickly about 2 years ago due to small numbers. But maybe this time will be different.

    Doki’s about ready to release the BD’s of Usagi in 1080p and 720p in both encodes, hi10p and 8-bit, and a 480p as well. Doesn’t it seem to be more about sharing the anime that way?

    • takatin9 says:

      I guess I’ll read up more on hi10p in term of terminology.

      I mostly encode BD so I can watch it myself. Encoding time is long as is, I won’t be releasing 8-bit. I much prefer to release more different anime than release different version of the same anime.

      Also, you have to understand the staff of Doki is much bigger than me and their have a much better infrastructure to support multiple releases. I’ll try to beat them in release time and encoding quality. (Well, at least the encoding quality anyway.)

      On the same subject, I won’t compete with good encoding like Coalgirls or Tormaid, since I find they are more experience than I am and their encoding is more than good enough.

    • dmonhiro says:

      10bit refers to the bit depth of the encode.
      hi10p is the x264 profile to achieve 10bit depth.
      As such, BOTH are correct when talking about encodes. Please leave your pretentious comments at the door.

      As for this release, it’s practically perfect. I only get 720p anyway because most TV anime is not created in1080p to begin with. Also, you can’t see the difference unless you have a 50 inch TV or super-human eye-sight. All those saying different suffer for placebo.

      Thank you for this release and I hope to see more of you.

  3. anyone says:

    Hi there. Thanks for your release.
    A little question about video: Have you used any filters on it?

    • takatin9 says:

      For now, I’m filtering the 1080p, but not the 720p. For future release, I’m not sure how I will be doing the 720p in term of filters but 1080p will always be filtered since that the version I will watch personally.

      • anyone says:

        I see. Will look forward to your 1080p version. According to my information, the Z-R version wasn’t filtered.

        • anyone says:

          It’s considerably sharper than Z-R, so +1 for you.

        • takatin9 says:

          Yeah, but don’t expect all of my releases to be filtered. Like for the next project that I’m going to upload tonight, it’s not filtered because of artifacts and aliasing problems. I’ll have to play with the filters more to get a better feel of it.

  4. ravil says:

    > I pick-up blu-rays or dvds that no competent groups have done.
    You telling me that Yousei-raws isn’t competent enough? rofl.

    • takatin9 says:

      Sigh, First of all, their release it’s a raw and than have you saw the size of their release? This is not a dark/grainy anime at all. I don’t call 1.6+ GB per episode for Usagi Drop competent.

      • ravil says:

        It has a very small grain, and without denoise and killing small details you cannot afford a size less than 1.5G. Also it’s 2011 year, no one cares about the size anymore.

        Denoising and losing some details and compressing w/ the higher ratio means you don’t care about quality at all – maybe your rip will be popular within the blind or newbie people, but guys who knows the difference will drop it only after viewing at your release, really.

        Oh, if you care that much about size – here is the ultimate solution for you: just put the warpsharp() on the source five.. no, ten times; it will be compressed like black hole! I mean it.

        • takatin9 says:

          First, I don’t denoised my releases, that’s just stupid and your assumption.
          Second, your group do RAW, that is not what I do.
          Third, I look at your encoding settings, 4 references frames and you call yourself competent.
          Finally, if no one cares about size anymore, why don’t you just remux the bdmv at this point and still continue to encode. There is a thing call efficiency, there is a reason not everyone just CRF 13 everything. This anime compressed really well, that’s why I lower the CRF to 15/16.

          Now unless you have solid proofs that my encoding sucks than please don’t post.
          Don’t get it if you don’t like it.

          I still don’t get why a share-raw group is posting here.

        • anyone says:

          How does reference frames improve the quality? I have read that the more reference frames you set, the longer it takes to encode the video. And the more memory you need to decode (play) it.
          But I’m just your average leecher, just a little curious, since you bring that aspect out.

        • takatin9 says:

          http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reference_frame_%28video%29
          I’m not good at explaining stuffs, this is a good explanation of what is a reference frame. Anime tends to used them a lot. For exemple, this anime that I’m encoding :
          —[NoImage] x264 [info]: ref P L0: 47.1% 21.7% 6.6% 5.1% 2.7% 3.7% 2.3% 1.7% 1.4% 1.7% 1.4% 1.5% 1.0% 1.1% 0.9% 0.1%
          —[NoImage] x264 [info]: ref B L0: 72.8% 10.1% 4.4% 2.4% 1.7% 1.7% 1.3% 1.0% 0.8% 0.8% 0.7% 0.9% 0.6% 0.4% 0.3%
          —[NoImage] x264 [info]: ref B L1: 94.1% 5.9%

          It uses all 16 refs, it’s pretty much the best ways to improve encoding quality without upping the bit-rate, but it’s take a long time to encode, especially with filters. I don’t care about encoding time through.

  5. anim3spy says:

    thanks for doing usagi drop.
    can u remove the kanji in the op and ed. And i think the front size in the op and ed should be smaller. in the ed “kayoi nareta itsumo…” the karaoke takes 33% of the screen. i think its too much.

    • takatin9 says:

      I agree on the ED, I’ll make them smaller in future releases and the batch, but I think the OP is fine.
      I doubt I’ll make a second track through.
      Have you look at the NCED? I made the kara smaller there.

      EDIT: It actually looks fine on my screen for both 1080p and 720p. I think they are the right size.

  6. anim3spy says:

    if you dont want to remove or make smaller, can you do a second track with smaller karaoke size and no kanji.

  7. Verix says:

    AWESOME release, much appreciated!!

    • Verix says:

      By the way, any particular reason you are using hex motion estimation? Pretty much every group uses umh or better. You could also use ridiculously high rc_lookahead like lots of encoders seem to be doing lately for some extra placebo quality/compressability.

      • takatin9 says:

        Huh, I was sure I was using umh. Thanks for the reminder.

        • Verix says:

          No problem. Also: http://i.imgur.com/5wxlj.jpg
          The OP karaoke seems to overlap a bit with the japanese characters already present. I don’t care about OP/ED since I skip them, but I thought I’d let you know. Also, green isn’t the prettiest color.
          Again, I don’t really care if you fix this, I mostly look forward to you completing the 1080p filtered encodes for all eps and specials since your releases look the best.
          Cheers!

        • takatin9 says:

          I agree on the color, but it changes as the OP goes along so I left it alone. Too bad Taka’s karaoke is hardsubbed, I like their version better.

Leave a Reply

